Student Artwork – The Yeast Imperative

In my most recent module we were tasked with producing Assemblage sculptures. These types of sculptures are similar to Collages. While Collage is predominantly two-dimensional, Assemblage uses similar processes to produce three-dimensional pieces. Like Collage, Assemblage uses unartistic materials such as Ready-Mades (otherwise called Found-Objects) and turns them into Assisted Ready-Mades (or semi-found object) with their incorporation into a larger work. Traditional art materials do appear, but they are often used in a capacity not akin to how they normally would, usually being an addition to a larger more complex work. The materials used are often banal and don’t normally elicit artistically thought responses on there own. But when these objects are used in a piece of work they generate some kind of communication between them, be it commentary, the uncanny some other platform that such interaction might take place.

DSC_0121.JPGDSC_0119.JPGDSC_0128.JPGDSC_0132.JPGDSC_0133.JPG

 

DSC_0125.JPGDSC_0129.JPGDSC_0124.JPGDSC_0122.JPGDSC_0131.JPG

For my piece I wanted to involve bread in someway, as I thought that you could make many interesting connotations relating bread to human history or evolution and maybe the human conditions, but it was also an unusual material that I had been wanting to use in some way for a while.

The research involved a lot of investigation, to do with figuring out how to employ the material most effectively, taking into consideration the previously mentioned ideas, and dodging any unnecessary objectivity to its direct meaning. I thought the material itself would speak volumes, especially the strange dead appearance that became perhaps my favorite part of the work.

The reason for the tangling was an idea prompted but the work of Berlinde de Bruyckere and here sculptures of corpse-like displays of the unsettling beauty that accompanies death. A number of her works used large branches to create pieces that might be seen as visceral organs.

 Inside me II (2011) by Berlinde de Bruyckere

During the early stages of my research I wanted to come up with some organic form that I might build my assemblage after. In my previous unit I explored the use of chance in art, particularly in the work of Hans Arp, of whom I have recently posted about. Unlike my previous exploitations of chance, which were very similar to Arp’s own, I made a system that would generate instructions for chance objects (I know it sounds backwards but trust me) that relied on the throw of a dice to deiced length, direction and angles of components. These being instructions, which require my conscious attention for rendering, it wasn’t fully chance based. Therefor they were more like semi-chance generated structures. After these first few designs, that I believed embodied elements of naturalism because of the partial lack of considered manufacture, I decided to make iterations until I found the best form.

DSC_0106.JPGDSC_0115.JPGDSC_0116.JPGDSC_0117.JPG

 

Leave a Reply

