RUST

Jpeg
Jpeg

I think it’s about time I put up some art, and to start off I’m going to show one of my favourites. This piece was one of the final pieces for my course in Lichfield College. It’s a steel sculpture that I processed with chemicals to give it a rusty surface, it contains organic elements as well as mechanical ones.

I called it Rust, although not a very inspiring name it works in two ways. Rust is the natural effect that occurs over time, and it is something that happens to man made objects. This fits with the organic and mechanical element mentioned before. It’s partly because of this that I like rust so much, whenever I see it I imagine the story of the rusted object and how it ended up in this state. There’s a strange, slightly macabre, beauty to it.

Leave a Reply

